Sunday, 31st March - Ballyliffin 10 & Omagh Half - Report

Ballyliffin 10 Mile 2013Easter Saturday saw the staging of both the Ballyliffen 10 mile road race and the Omagh Half Marathon. Inishowen AC had athletes competing in both events. Locally, Ballyliffen was the place to be for the annual Costal Challenge, which is a tough and scenic route. 700 participants took to the start line for the 2pm start. It was two visiting athletes who set the pace from the start; Foyle Valley's Pius Mc Intyre and former winner John Harkin from Carndonagh, now running for Tullamore Harriers. It was Mc Intyre who won the race in a time of 57.29 followed by Harkin in 58.09. First of the Inishowen athletes was Martin Mooney in 8th place overall in a time of 62.34, follwed by Christian Mc Ginley in 66.13. In the ladies race, Springwell Athletic Club Coleraine took the honours, filling the top two spots, with Karen Alexander winning in 64.36. First of the Inishowen ladies to cross the line was Theresa Doherty in 4th place in a time of 73.56 followed by Elizabeth Mc Daid in 75.28. Other Inishowen AC finishers were:

Declan Donaghy 68.02
Shaun Mc Daid 68.48
Vinney Hegarty 72.44
Michael Collins 73.41
Sharon Mc Daid 76.05
Seamus Mc Daid 77.58
Peter Mc Kinney 79.07
Breedge Collins 79.27
Edmund Doherty 83.48
Aideen McLaughlin 85.16
Ursurla Lynch 88.40
Karen Mc Dermott 88.44
Linda Mc Daid 88.45
Marie O Donnell 89.41
Aileen Doherty 92.38
Trina Mhic O Dhonaill 96.35
Serena Doherty 97.53
Michelle Donaghey 101.15
Patricia Barnett 101.41
Grainne Gillen 105.06
Siobhan Maher 106.17
Marie McElwaine 113.45
Rose Doherty 120.06
Della Canny 128.39

Earlier in the morning, 1500 athletes took to the starting line for the Omagh Half marathon and Inishowen athletes were in attendance. Benny Mc Daid was the first over the line for Inishowen AC with a fantastic 21st place finish in a time of 78.22 followed by:

Shane Doherty 1.22.37
Gerard Doherty 1.24.08
Pat Gallagher 1.25.59
Finbarr Galaagher 1.27.02
David Porter 1.29.47
Shaun Mc Menimen 1.30.24
Sheila Doherty 1.36.38
Henrietta elves 1.40.57
John Murray 1.42.49
Melissa Mc Intyre 1.57.45
Sonya Mc Grory 1.56.47
Johanne Mc Grory 1.57.29
Ann Mc Elhinney 1.59.01
Seanna Jackson 1.59.06
Zoe Donaghey 2.00.57
Majella Mc Laughlin 2.01.27
Danielle Grant 2.02.00
Siobhain Mc Laughlin 2.03.24
Patricia Mullan 2.09.02
Sarah Webster 2.09.00
Philip Callaghan 2.17.08
Donna Mari Doherty 2.21.55
Marie Carey 2.23.01
Martina Callaghan 2.37.36

Next up for Inishowen AC is the National 10k Championships in the Phoenix Park, Dublin on 14th April followed by the Inishowen Half Marathon on Sunday 21st April.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.   |  Feedback Form  |  IAC Facebook  |

Back to Top